Welcome to Blogland

I have never written a blog. I have never subscribed to a blog. I am for all intents and purposes a ‘blog virgin’.

I can’t help feeling that it’s a rather unfortunate name “blog”, and yes I did look up its provenance (web log) but the image in my head is still a cross between a rather muddy swamp and a natural bodily function.

All that aside, here I am. Blogging.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not technologically impaired, I have a facebook account (I think I even created a twitter account at some point in the distant past), in fact I already spend 7 hours a day in front of a computer screen…and therein, I think, lies the problem. I’m scared. My greatest fear is that I will discover that blogs are in fact awesome. My ‘to read’ bookshelf has morphed into its very own bookcase, the magazine subscriptions pile up week by week as I battle to get through one before the next arrives – my head is simply telling me it doesn’t have room (or time) for more reading material. Because I KNOW that I will – not a doubt in my mind – find blogs that are great, indeed so fantastically full of exciting information that I WILL become addicted to them which means I will have to find time to read them.

And so I dive, headfirst, into the muddy swamp that is Blogland.

My new favourite blog (ok i lie – it’s the only blog i’ve subscribed to so far) is appropriately titled This is Naive – a really great little blog about ‘beautiful things’ by a London based photographer. Time spent trawling through this blog today: 47 mins (and i will be going back).

This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to Blogland

  1. jtsdonald says:

    Welcome, blog virgin amberalee! Don’t be scared of the Web buffet. Pick and choose what genuinely appeals to you, and remember not to feel guilty about all the reading you didn’t do, because no matter how fast you are, there will always be more. That’s the beautifully chaotic nature of the Internet.

  2. Polina Bendetskaya says:

    I share your feelings: it is a bit scary to get addicted to blogs. It might even lead to facebook betrayal:) Yet, I am sure that you’ll be fine. Your style is easy to follow and I am interested to read more. Good luck!

Leave a comment